print logo
© 2019
International Interior Design Association

Chicago, IL
Toll Free: 888 799 4432
International: +01 312 467 1950

2018 ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards

The Competition

The ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards honor international excellence in library interior design. Award winners demonstrate excellence in aesthetics, design, creativity, and function.

Entry Information

Any interior designer, interior architect, or architect, based in the U.S. or internationally, may submit design project(s). Any library interior design project completed after Oct. 1, 2015 is eligible for this competition. Projects previously published are acceptable. 

Review the competition guidelines.

Important Dates

The ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards take place biennially. Submission open January 2020.

The ALA Annual Conference will be held June 25-30, 2020, in Chicago.


Winners and their clients will be honored at the ALA Annual Conference held in New Orleans on June 23, 2018 at 1 pm. Winning entries are displayed on the IIDA website and published in Contract and American Libraries.


For questions or more information, contact Clare Socker at



IIDA Designer Dialogue

The IIDA Designer Dialogue series delves into the interior design process of some of the most celebrated projects submitted to IIDA competitions.

The Chinatown Branch of the Chicago Public Library in Chicago, Illinois, designed by the firm, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, won Best of Competition in the 2016 ALA/IIDA Library Interior Design Awards. Learn about the inspiration and process behind the library's design.


2018 Winners

2018 Jurors


Stasia Czech Suleiman, IIDA, NCIDQ

Stasia Czech Suleiman

Jessica Kayongo, J.D, M.A.

Hesburgh Libraries, University of Notre Dame

Jessica Kayongo
Jeannette Lenear Peruchini, IIDA, LEED AP
Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP
Jeannette Lenear Peruchini
OPN Architects
Mindy Sorg