print logo
© 2017
International Interior Design Association

Chicago, IL
Toll Free: 888 799 4432
International: +01 312 467 1950


The Award

The IIDA Foundation, in partnership with Interior Design Educators Council Foundation, Inc., is pleased to announce and present the IIDA Diversity Award. This award recognizes and celebrates an educator who is a representative of a diverse background and is making a significant contribution to interior design education today.

The recipient will receive a $5,000 cash award from the IIDA Foundation. The award will be presented at the IDEC Annual Conference, scheduled for March 8 - 12, 2017, in Chicago.

In order to apply for consideration, the candidate must be a current full-time educator who is a member of IDEC, representative of a diverse background encompassing any of the following: race, ethnicity, gender, physical ability, disability and/or sexual orientation, and has made contributions to the teaching profession for advancing the practice of interior design.

The application for the 2016 Diversity Award is now closed. 


Contact Information

For more information, contact Aisha Williams, Director of Industry Relations and Special Events, at


2016 Diversity Award Recipient 

Kijeong Jeon

Kijeong Jeon

The 2016 IIDA Foundation Diversity of the Year Award recipient is Kijeong Jeon, professor and interior architecture program coordinator at California State University Chico.

Read the Press Release