print logo
© 2017
International Interior Design Association

Chicago, IL
Toll Free: 888 799 4432
International: +01 312 467 1950

2016 Global Excellence Awards Jurors


Johannes Lampela

Johannes Lampela

Director of Design, Designworks LA, BMW Group Company


Johannes Lampela leads a multidisciplinary team of designers and creative directors working on variety of projects ranging from private and public mobility, consumer goods, capital equipment, medical devices, workplace furniture solutions, and hospitality design. Some of his key projects include Singapore Airlines First Class seat and cabin, Bay Area Rapid Transit (BART) fleet of the future, Allsteel Clarity, Clubhouse, and Reflect workplace furniture designs. Prior to joining Designworks in 2005, Lampela formed a design collective in Milan collaborating with Future Concept Lab, Domus Academy, and several residential and urban furniture manufacturers. Lampela earned his bachelor’s degree from Lahti Design Institute and a master’s degree from Domus Academy. He is a frequent guest lecturer at Art Center College of Design in Pasadena, California.


Mary Jo Miller, Ind. IIDA
Vice President of Design and Development, HBF Textiles


Mary Jo Miller has been the creative visionary behind HBF Textiles for over 25 years. During her tenure, Miller has led the development of a number of award-winning collections and been responsible for translating the works of interior designers, architects, and industrial designers into the textile medium. Her own textile collections are experiments with color, texture, and graphics and represent some of HBF Textiles best sellers. Miller was awarded the Interior Design HIP Award for Creative Director: Textiles in 2016 as recognition for her industry achievements. Miller is also currently the President of the Association for Contract Textiles.



Senior Vice President, Corporate Workplace; Design & Delivery Director, AECOM


Brett Shwery leads the design and delivery strategy for AECOM’s global Corporate Workplace practice and is responsible for ensuring consistent delivery of high quality design across projects for Fortune 1000 companies. With over 30 years of experience, he has worked with key executives for companies such as Oracle, IBM, Warner Bros., and Nissan Motor Corporation to develop design strategies focused on client vision, team creation and innovative design, and delivery models that reinforce business and corporate real estate portfolio objectives. Shwery is a past chairperson for the American Institute of Architects Interior Architecture Committee, Los Angeles Chapter and was one of the original founders of the committee’s student competition. He is a recipient of the University of Southern California’s Architectural Guild Service Award by a Board Member for outstanding service in 2013 – 2014.


Anabella Smith

Principal and Director of Interior Design, Zyscovich Architects


With more than 30 years of experience, Anabella Smith is best known for the role of leading the “branding by design” of multi-family projects, office buildings, corporate-healthcare, retail, hospitality, entertainment, K-12, higher-education, institutional, governmental, and transportation. She attended Universidad Simon Bolivar in Caracas and sought a major in architecture, and received a bachelor's degree in architectural technology from Florida International University. Smith has lectured at Florida International University on Design and Sustainability for the Architecture and Interior Design Department and has also collaborated with the interior design department on special programs. She was awarded the Interior Designer of the Year in 2004 by the American Institute of Architects for her excellence in leadership and notable architecture and interior design work.