print logo
© 2019
International Interior Design Association

Chicago, IL
Toll Free: 888 799 4432
International: +01 312 467 1950

2018 Star Award Winner


Dina Griffin, IIDA, FAIA, NOMA


Dina GriffinSince 1999, Dina Griffin, IIDA, FAIA, NOMA, has served as president at Interactive Design Architects (IDEA). She has been instrumental in bolstering the firm’s commitment to collaboration which has afforded them multiple opportunities to create, learn, and interact with other thought leaders in the profession. The firm has partnered with internationally renowned firms, including Pelli Clarke Pelli Architects, HOK, and Renzo Piano Building Workshop to complete noteworthy projects such as the Modern Wing at the Art Institute of Chicago - widely acknowledged as a new icon in Chicago’s architectural landscape. Recently, IDEA joined the team of Tod Williams | Billie Tsien Architects to design the Barack Obama Presidential Center in Chicago.

In addition to past leadership positions with the American Institute of Architects and the National Organization of Minority Architects, Griffin has served on the IIDA Design and Diversity Industry Roundtable. She currently serves on the Illinois Architect Licensing Board as Committee Chair; the Leadership Advisory Committee of the Art Institute of Chicago; the Chicago Central Area Committee; and the Advisory Board for Contract magazine.



Star Award Recipients

The IIDA Star Award was created in 1995 to recognize and celebrate the contributions that have significantly impacted the Interior Design profession by either an organization or an individual.

2017 David Mourning
2016 Philip Freelon
2015 Yves Béhar
2014 Yabu Pushelberg
2013 Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt
2012 Four Seasons Hotel Corporation
2011 The Center for Health Design
2010 Majora Carter
2009 Hilda Longinotti
2008  Crate & Barrel
2007 Dr. Karen Stephenson
2006 Fast Company
2005 Target
2004 Kevin Kampschroer
2003 Ray Anderson
2002 Karim Rashid
2001 Andrée Putnam
2000 Eva Maddox, FIIDA
1999 Michael Brill
1998 Charles and Ray Eames
1997 Michael Wirtz, FIIDA
1996 No recipient
1995 Douglas Parker