print logo
© 2015
International Interior Design Association

222 Merchandise Mart, Suite 567
Chicago, IL 60654
Toll Free: 888 799 4432
International: +01 312 467 1950

Licensing and Regulation

Interior Design laws help establish and maintain professional standards that protect the health, safety and welfare of the general public. IIDA firmly believes that legal recognition, achieved through licensing, registration, and certification brings uniformity to the profession, defines responsibility, and encourages excellence in the Interior Design industry.

To date, Interior Design laws have been enacted in 27 U.S. states, including the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and 8 Canadian provinces.

In some states, use of the term “Interior Designer” is limited to those professionals meeting the state’s requirements. In others, the state regulates the use of “Certified Interior Designer,” “Registered Interior Designer” or another specified title. Some states also regulate the practice of interior design, as defined by the state law, and unlicensed professionals are prohibited from performing certain interior design services. The rights and responsibilities provided to licensed Interior Designers vary among jurisdictions.

Learn more about the existing Interior Design licensing and registration laws:

Interior Design Laws of North America

Interior Design Laws of North America Map

Protected State Titles

Interior Design Legislation introduced, 2013-14

South Carolina - H.3417

Minnesota - HF 1052

New York – A.6717

Massachusetts – HB2832

Pennsylvania – SB1060

Oregon – SB1521